If you are facing a criminal charge here in New Jersey, it can be one of the most stressful times in your life. Criminal charges not only carry the potential to have a criminal record but are associated with fines and possible jail or prison time.
First, what is criminal law? According to Britannica, criminal law is the body of law that defines criminal offenses, regulates the apprehension, charging, and trial of suspected persons, and fixes penalties and modes of treatment applicable to convicted offenders.
What should I do if I’ve been charged with a crime?
Your first step is to take immediate legal action. Criminal law here in New Jersey can be overwhelming to navigate on your own.
In New Jersey, felonies are referred to as “indictables.” Misdemeanors are also defined as either disorderly person’s offense or petty disorderly persons offense. Indictables are categorized into four degrees. Here is a breakdown of the potential penalties for first, second, third, and fourth degrees:
First Degree Indictable
-Maximum of twenty (20) years in New Jersey State Prison, with a fine of up to $200,000.00. A first degree carries a presumption of incarceration.
Second Degree Indictable
-Maximum of ten (10) years in New Jersey State Prison, with a fine of up to $150,000.00. A second degree also carries a presumption of incarceration.
Third Degree Indictable
-Maximum of five (5) years in New Jersey State Prison, with a fine of up to $15,000.00. A third degree, however, does not carry a presumption of incarceration.
Fourth Degree Indictable
-Maximum of eighteen (18) months in New Jersey State Prison, with a fine of up to $10,000.00. A fourth degree, like a third degree, does not carry a presumption of incarceration.
At Carluccio, Leone, Dimon, Doyle, & Sacks, LLC we have the experience and reputation for getting favorable results defending our clients including but not limited to the following matters:
- Assault & Battery
- Disorderly Conduct
- Domestic Violence
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
- Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
- Drug Charges/Possession
- Motor Vehicle Violations
- Reckless Driving
- Sexual Assault
- Traffic Violations
- Underage Drinking
- Weapon’s Charge
- White Collar Crime
The lawyers at CLDDS bring years of experience when it comes to Criminal Law. One of our attorneys was a former First Assistant Prosecutor at the Ocean County Prosecutor’s Office, which is the second-highest law enforcement position in the county. We also have a former municipal prosecutor on our team. Finally, one of our attorneys has been selected to the *Super Lawyers Rising Stars list by Thomson Reuters for criminal defense four years in a row. Only 2.5% of New Jersey lawyers receive this accreditation.
We fight for the very best possible results for our clients. Whether you need an aggressive defense to avoid conviction, need to challenge the basis for a traffic summons or need to negotiate the best possible plea agreement – our law firm is your first line of defense, presenting realistic options and insightful advice.
Please feel free to call us today at 732-797-1600.
No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.